Welcome Forums The Hut – Members Discussion Board Paddle Rule Question

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #755
    BPC Team
    Participant

    If a player is serving and hits the ball into the receivers box but then the ball bounces off a screen and out of the court completely before the receiver hits it – who’s point is it? I looked at the rules online but it is unclear. Also, what happens if in the course of live play the same thing happens where a player at the net spikes the ball inbounds but then it hits a side screen and goes out of the court?

    Thanks!

    #756
    BPC Team
    Participant

    James,
    If the ball bounces out of the court area then whoever hit the ball looses the point. It doesn’t matter if the ball was originally in and then hit 2 screens –the ball must drop back into the area of play to be good. Otherwise everyone would go for the overhead slam and power to bounce off back screen and out of play.
    There are some great videos of APTA matches where the ball rolls along the side bar and everyone holds their breath to see if it will stay in play.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.